Sunday Times Prep School of the Year 2013-14

Exemption from the learning and development requirements in the EYFS

 R pupils   R in class

The EYFS – the Early Years Foundation Stage - sets standards for learning, development and care for all children from birth to 5 years old; this naturally covers our two reception classes. Here at Holy Cross however, we can provide a learning experience and environment beyond governmental suggestions due to our unique setting and so have exemption from the framework to follow our own curriculum and programme of study although this does naturally reflect EYFS learning and development requirements. Holy Cross was granted this exemption by the DFE from July 30th 2013. We continue to follow three prime, and four specific areas of the EYFS curriculum; these areas of learning are,

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

The exemption enables us to deliver specialist teaching in music, PE, French, drama and an RE program reflecting our Catholic ethos that links with the other areas of learning to ensure a meaningful cross-curricular approach. The study of world faiths, following the school’s program of study, links closely with aspects covered in ‘Understanding of the World’.

 R in class   R playground in snow